top of page
  • lunasoleil1

Holden (The Hollow Duet Part 2) by D.D. Prince


To Every Season There is a Reason

This story...

One of the things that I adore about this author is her ability to write in so many different sub-genres and doing every single one justice. It doesn't matter what it is either because every single one is superb. MC romance? Sci-Fi? Paranormal? Mafia? Enemies to lovers? Erotic Horror? All are exceptional and leaves me with a plethora of options when it comes to recommending books to friends when they are looking for new reading material or sub-trope. This might be one of my favorites, even though it seems to be more horror than romance. Although to be fair, I am not sure I would call it just horror because there is so much more to this duet and this book in particular.

This book picked off from the first book that had left the ending kind of up in the air of what would happen next. This was because there was an uncertainty about what could happen if the events of that night or their relationship were discussed. As I started reading, I kept thinking that the author must be smoking something because this story seemed sweet. There was no way that it could be darker than the book Saved (I can say this because even though I loved Alessandro and I claimed him long ago, He was a dark almost unredeemable "jerk"). I was wrong. So very wrong. I even found myself thinking, "Sweet Holy titfire, She went THERE." The "there" is the horror aspect of the story. I wasn't sure that there was going to be anything that could turn this story back into something other than being erotic horror. However, this author managed to do it and that is why I say that there is more to this than just being horror. There is a message here. It is a reminder that not everything is what it appears to be and sometimes things have to happen in order for it to have the outcome that is supposed to be. To every season there is a reason a lesson that both Holden and Isabella learned.

These characters are great. Isabella is sweet and in so many ways innocent and Holden, Aloof and yet nurturing. They both carry with them some heavy baggage, which is uncovered from the events of this story. There were fantastic secondary characters that I could easily see turning into other stories of their own. I would love this, although am not sure that the author has time for this with so many other stories in the works but I can wait! (HINT HINT give the Witches their stories and by witches I TOTALLY mean me). I enjoyed watching this story unfold from the very beginning and watching how this author perfects her craft. It gave me a greater appreciation for what she does and showed me that this is why she is so good at anything she writes.

I definitely recommend this story to anyone that loves to dabble in the darker side with a dash of supernatural.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page