top of page
  • lunasoleil1

Manhattan Secret by V. Theia


There are just certain authors that everyone has that gives them a flutter of excitement when a new book comes out. This is one of those authors for me. I know going into any book of hers that I am going to get a ride of a lifetime. With every book, I tell myself that she cannot get any better. Except, every time she manages to up her game and knock me on my derrière. EVERY. TIME. She is able to do this because her characters are real. Even when they are arrogant or the story has taboo elements, there is something about that makes me fall in love. This was especially true about the characters in this book and the subject matter. I enjoyed the tabooness of this story. The author did a great job of making sure that it wasn't creepy. It helped build the idea of this story as being perfectly okay because this truly was a once in a lifetime love. Just like his parents and his brother, Lachlan LOVES with every ounce of his being. He knows what he wants and he goes after it. Delaney didn't stand a chance. I liked a certain scene in particular, without giving any spoilers, where she explained this too. I had to laugh when I discovered that the person that she was talking to already knew but wanted to feel out her response to gauge how serious Laney was about Lachlan. That was literary gold. I won't give away much with the story other than to say that everyone needs to read about this family. Even though this is technically a standalone book I would recommend starting at the beginning because Noah and Sena are life. It also helps explain how these kids love the way that they do. I will say, however, that Lachlan has one of the dirtiest talking mouths that I have read and THAT says something with how much I read. His confidence was hotter than fire and boy did he not only talk the talk but he walked the walk. Laney was a lucky girl. As always with this author, she manages to give a little peek at the characters from previous books, or the first generation of characters that paved the way for these characters to be here, and reminds me why I fell in love with this family to begin with. All of these characters have become real in my mind. If I close my eyes, I can see them. I can hear them, and I can laugh or even hurt when they did. Highly recommend anything by this author and in particular this book. https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2985993909?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page