top of page
  • lunasoleil1

Mesmer by Cari Silverwood and Jennifer Bene

Updated: Sep 9, 2019



Sweet Holy titfire.

Normally I write a review right after I finish a book while the image is fresh in my mind. However, this book kept me up until almost 6 in the morning and I was delirious, This book plagued my dreams and has been mulling around my head all day until I could finally sit down to write this review. That is both good and bad. I dreamt about rocking horses, spears, and mind control, which if I am being honest here was both titillating and horrifying. Reading about this happening to the characters in the book was one thing, having my mind think I was Hannah while I was sleep... Nope, Nada, NEVER, Hell to the NO, and Now I need therapy STAT. Although, to be fair, I might need a hug more than I need therapy now.




This is not a pretty story, and for anyone that has read about the Mesmer world then this says something because HOLY holy hell this is on a level that few can handle. As horrifying as this world is there is just something about it that, for lack of a better word, mesmerizes me. It makes my mind think and panic a little. To discover that this author was bringing this world back and adding one of my other favorite authors that also pushes the limits EVERY time (Reign of Ruin still makes me shudder thinking about it MONTHS later) to the mix had me wanting to do a serious jig.





I never in my wildest dreams thought this would be as well done as it was. Nor did I think they could go any darker. I was wrong. Holy hell was I wrong. I will never look at Rocking Horses the same way. I had a very hard time differentiating who was writing what. (a certain spear was a definite giggle because that was from another favorite character/scene of mine so that was the ONLY time that I knew with absolute certainty who was writing.) *** Updated to add that I was wrong and the author that I THOUGHT wrote this DID NOT write this scene. This just goes to show how amazing these two authors are and how alike they are in regards to their writing and minds. This actually scares me now considering how twisted they both are when it comes to twisted juxtaposed with tantalizing. *** That says something about this collaboration. It was seamless dark and depraved perfection. Numerous times I found myself thinking, "Oh Holy titifire, THEY are taking it THERE."

I cannot stress enough that this book is Dark. I am not talking about, "Oh look, there are stars dark" but rather this is, " being trapped in a cave in the middle of the earth where no light source has ever shone before type of dark."




This is darker than 13 midnights--PITCH BLACK type of dark. There are more triggers than I can even prepare someone for. These authors didn't just dip their toes into the dark or teeter on dark elements. Oh, no they jumped right in and gave zero pinches of squirrel crap about who they might or might not offend (Looking at the pearl clutchers here) because this WILL offend someone.





These two are driving the bus to hell and are quite okay with that> I am just glad that I discovered them both and ever thankful that I bought the all aboard pass because this debaucherous journey has been so worth it. Read this if pitch black that leaves a smudge on your soul is your thing.




https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2966708233

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page