top of page
  • lunasoleil1

Mixtape: A Love Song Anthology

Growing up as an 80's kid where mixtapes were LIFE had me super excited about this anthology. Add in the fact that it had several of my favorite authors and I knew it would be a hit for me. An anthology about songs that hold a special memory, what could be better than that?

Guys My Age by Saffron A. Kent I love everything that this author writes. EVERYTHING. Yet, giving me a story like this one where she puts her taboo on something so beautiful and then with a bonus surprise of who these characters really are had me GIDDY. This author can put a spin on the taboo like few other authors without it seeming creepy. Her skill with creating an image or articulating her thoughts in such a poetic way is truly mindboggling which is just one of the many reasons I savor each word as if it was caviar. If you are a fan of this author and have read everything that she has written then this is a must read. Trust me. You will understand after reading it.

Say it First by Nikki Sloane

I loved this novella. I was sad it wasn't longer because I truly wanted to see what the future had in store for Jamie and Anna. There was so much potential for angst and an eventual HEA in the future for these two. Even being short, the author did a great job fleshing out characters and a storyline that didn't leave a bunch of details out which was a remarkable feat.

Broken Hallelujah by Sierra Simone This book took me totally by surprise. It did not follow the usual storyline of romantic love interests which made it all that much more interesting. Even with this not being a favorite for me (because I like a certain type) it didn't change the fact that this author can write steam with the best of them.

Say Yes by Elle Kennedy I love how this author always can make simple sentences or inner musings of the character make me laugh ot loud. This is yet another story that I wish had been a full story. Even though the novella was exceptionally done, it is a premise that has not been done enough. I had to laugh at Emilia's little "mix-up" when she came back to confess something. One of the simplest and best epilogues ever in any book too!

All I want by Mara White Very different story than I was expecting. A part of me loved it and another part of me didn't. I struggled because I had so many questions that I wanted answered. The ending made me think about how much fate and the universe is involved in creating miracles.

Toothpaste Kisses by Xio Axelrod This is the first time reading this author so I wasn't sure what to expect. I rarely read m/m but this was very well done. The author knows how to build on the chemistry and create a very memorable story.

Wild Pitch by Rebecca Shay A very fast-paced story of acting on previous feelings in a second chances type romance. Mateo and Mia were first loves separated and finally rediscovering their feelings in a snowstorm.

Your Everything by KL Kreig SWEET Jesus. This is the prequel to Black Swan Affair, a book that totally gobsmacked me. This prequel added sooooo much to that story that it makes me want to go back and reread it again. I had forgotten how much I was torn with love for Maverick, Killian, and Kael.

Think I'm in Love by Leslie McAdam This novella had a lot of trying to come to terms with one's sexuality type angst that I was not expecting. The author did a great job in this m/m novella. This was a first-time author for me.

Moments of Truth by Veronica Larsen This was a poignant and beautiful novella. The anticipation and longing that I felt in this story made my heart ache. To say that I loved this little gem of a novella would be an understatement. I want, no I need, more words about Gabby and Dean.

Lush by Marnie Mann Sweet Holy titfire. Bale and Pepper give new meaning to the word HOT. Out of all the stories, this one frustrated me the most because I need more of this story like I needed air to breathe. It was THAT good. I now need to go stalk this author and by stalk I mean observe closely.

Kiss me by Lynda Aicher. This is a first time reading this author and one that I will be looking for more of from the future. I really liked the direction that this author took with the main character. It was refreshing to see a boss that actually had a soft spot. Daniel wasn't redeemed so to speak where he saw the errors of his ways. It had been there all along and was more of a behind the scenes type of guy. I liked how he persued Tara in order to find their HEA.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page