top of page
  • lunasoleil1

Serenading Heartbreak by Ella Fields


One of the best of 2019 and one of my favorites from this author.

I knew going into this story that I was going to be on one hell of an emotional ride. I just was not expecting it to be through Splash Mountain at Disneyland. Holy hell, this book hurt. A LOT. Screw that, this book hurt A WHOLE HELL OF A LOT. This author just took angst to a WHOLE new level. This book is the closest that I have ever come to wanting to flip to the back of the book in order to maybe ease my miserable and conflicted heart. I managed to hold off but barely.

The author is one of the best at what she does. She is a master wordsmith. Every word choice is meticulously chosen to have the most impact. Seriously, her skill at painting a story but with words instead of paint is mind-blogging. My heart hurt for Stevie, my heart hurt for Aiden and my heart hurt for Everett. I am not sure that I could have chosen between the two men if I was Stevie. Both of the men had something and I could see the draw for either of them. My heart hurt especially bad for the one not chosen because I think they could have both been winners. The entire time I was reading my heart physically hurt because I loved both of these men. They both made mistakes but that didn't mean that I couldn't see how these characters both loved the same girl. A girl that DESERVED to be loved. Which only made my heart hurt MORE knowing that this was genuine love. I questioned my sanity a few times reading this because I wasn't sure my heart could take it. I am old. I have more yesterdays than tomorrow and I questioned why I did this to myself reading a love triangle. Then I remembered... It is because this author wrote it and I need her words like I need air.

I connected with these characters on so many levels, mainly because this author is truly a magical Unicorn. I won't lie and say that there were times that I wanted to message the author and tell her how I was vacillating between wanting to tell her how much I loved her and wanting to shake her before I resumed the cycle over and over again. The way that she weaves this story almost broke me. It was so beautiful that I truly had my mouth agape, and found myself highlighting huge parts of the book because there is just something about this author and her ability to write poetry in motion. It truly was Mellifluously sublime.

This story hurt. I was jealous of Stevie having not just one love but two that were so encompassing that the soul couldn't even help the heart to stop loving these two amazing men. And amazing they were because I think in my heart they truly both loved her with the very breath in their lungs. It was powerful, beautiful, and poignant with a dash (or 50) of heartbreak Basically it was Love personified.

I have read everything this author has written and each time I fall in love with her a little bit more. I hope someday that she truly believes how amazing she is. The growth from book one to now, although even her debut book came out swinging and was amazing, is otherworldly at this point. She is one of the most talented writers that I have read and Goddess knows I have read THOUSANDS of books. Everyone needs to read this book.


https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2611217904

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page